Considerations When Copying Projects

Although CxAlloy TQ does not offer a user-facing function for copying projects, our support team can copy projects under certain circumstances. If a project is copied, be aware of the following:

  • Projects are copied, not moved
  • Projects can be copied across different accounts
  • Permissions are copied, even across accounts
  • All content is copied
  • Dates and names are preserved
  • Historical data is not copied
  • The copied project can still be accessed

Projects are copied, not moved

When a project is copied, the original project remains. For continuity of data, all users should switch to using the new project after it is copied. Archiving the original project is recommended to prevent users from inadvertently entering new data into the wrong project.

Projects can be copied across different accounts

A project in one account can be copied into a new project in a different account.

The support team will not copy a project unless they have received written authorization from an account admin from both the account being copied from and the account being copied to.

Permissions are copied, even across accounts

All people and their associated project permissions are included as part of the project copy. This means that new users may get added to the account that receives the copied project. Users added to the account through the copy operation will only have access to the copied project.

All content is copied

The copy operation copies all content, including files. This includes:

  • Project Settings
  • Assets (Equipment, Equipment Types, Systems, Spaces, Floors, Zones, and Buildings)
  • Checklists
  • Tests
  • Checklist and Test Templates
  • Issues
  • Field Observations
  • Reviews
  • Meetings
  • Progress Reports
  • People, Companies, Roles, and Permissions
  • Files

Dates and names are preserved

All copied content maintains the original author and date created.

Historical data is not copied

The new project will not have any of the historical data of the original project. History will be tracked for the new project from the time the project is copied. Historical data from prior to when the project was copied can be viewed in the original project.

The original project can still be accessed

Projects are copied, not moved, so the original project will remain. Archiving the original project is recommended in order to minimize confusion, but it can continue to remain active or be reactivated just like any other project.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us